arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up cross download facebook link-external linkedin magazine mail search twitter xing

BLICKWINKEL

October 2018

Structures

Scientists at BRAIN are creatively searching for new structures, for example by decoding biological systems in the skin. In so doing they are exploring the cascades of metabolic processes that are unleashed at cellular level by external stimuli. The better we understand these processes and how they are linked, the easier it will be to transfer them to industrial fields of application such as the development of bio-based care products or natural taste modulators.

In this issue of BLICKWINKEL, we explain these special and indeed sometimes unique areas of expertise that distinguish the research work performed by BRAIN. By gaining an ever deeper understanding of the biological structures and systems that exist in our skin or in the taste buds on the human tongue, BRAIN scientists succeed in developing ever more precise cell-based assays for reproducing sensory reactions. These assays make it possible to simulate physiological processes in the skin and to make reliable statements at laboratory level on which skin reactions or taste perceptions are caused by contact with natural substances.

Blickwinkel Structures October 2018

Rudolf Img 1
© Dr Rüdiger Rudolf


Paradigm shift 
for cell-based models

Prof Dr Rüdiger Rudolf about the develpoment of Organoids based on complex 3D cell cultures for the screening of new bioactive compounds for skin care and biomedicine.

Show article
Haut 01
© We are Büro Büro

Natural 
skin care

An interview with Dr Alice Kleber and Dr Dirk Sombroek about unique BRAIN technologies and the development programmes TRiP2Sensation and TRiP2Taste developing new cosmetics and skin-care products.

Show article
Schweiss 01

So long, sweat!

There is a growing demand for aluminium-free antiperspirants and deodorants that are based on natural substances. Dr Torsten Ertongur-Fauth explains novel test systems for identifying natural substances that can be used to reduce human perspiration.

Show article
Backhaus A Moment 2015
© Jessica Backhaus

A Trilogy

In her latest Trilogy series, photo artist Jessica Backhaus unites the interplay of colour, structures and surfaces. Here we present an extract from this intriguing and comprehensive collection.

Show article
Bassler_Baum
© Markus Bassler

Healthy ageing

Given demographic change, healthy ageing is an increasingly important topic for policy-makers, business and society in general. While new requirements are arising for the health care system, there are also new opportunities for innovations in this broad thematic area. Dr Dirk Sombroek talks about the NatLifE 2020 innovation alliance to which this issue is devoted.

Show article
Riedel 1 Zeichenflaeche 1 Kopie 4

Acquiring a taste

Dr Katja Riedel talks about BRAIN’s research into the perception of different tastes for healthier foods.

Show article
3 Fragen Klumpp Boethe

3 questions for ...

... research technician Sabine Weber and research associate Dirk Ritzmann.

Show article

Blickwinkel Care May 2018

Blickwinkel Archive

Scroll to top

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up cross download facebook link-external linkedin magazine mail search twitter xing

BLICKWINKEL

Oktober 2018

Structures

BRAIN-Forscher sind ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Strukturen, wenn sie biologische Zusammenhänge in der Haut entschlüsseln. So sind sie auch den durch äußere Reize ausgelösten zellulären Stoffwechselprozessen auf der Spur. Je besser diese Prozesse verstanden werden, desto leichter fällt die Übertragung auf industrielle Anwendungsgebiete wie die Entwicklung biobasierter Pflegeprodukte oder natürlicher Geschmacksmodulatoren.

Im vorliegenden BLICKWINKEL erläutern wir diese speziellen, mitunter einzigartigen Expertisen, die BRAIN bei solchen Forschungsaufgaben auszeichnet. Durch das immer bessere Verständnis der biologischen Strukturen und Systeme, die es in unserer Haut oder in den Geschmacksknospen auf unserer Zunge gibt, gelingt es BRAIN-Forschern, immer exaktere Zellmodelle zur Nachstellung sensorischer Reaktionen zu entwickeln – sogenannte Cell-based Assays. Damit können zum Beispiel physiologische Abläufe in der Haut simuliert und bereits im Labor zuverlässige Aussagen getroffen werden, welche Hautreaktionen oder Geschmackswahrnehmungen durch den Kontakt mit Naturstoffen hervorgerufen werden.

Blickwinkel Structures Oktober 2018

Rudolf Img 1
© Dr. Rüdiger Rudolf

Paradigmenwechsel für Zellmodelle

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Rudolf über die Entwicklung von „Organoiden“ auf Basis komplexer 3D-Zellkulturen für das Screening neuer bioaktiver Wirkstoffe für Hautpflegeprodukte und die Biomedizin.

Zum Artikel
natürlich pflegend Illustration 1
© We are Büro Büro

Natürlich hautpflegend

Ein Gespräch mit Dr. Alice Kleber und Dr. Dirk Sombroek über einzigartige BRAIN-Technologien und die Entwicklungsprogramme TRiP2Sensation und TRiP2Taste für neue Kosmetika und Pflegeprodukte.

Zum Artikel
Schweiss 01
© Carolin Loebbert

Tschüss, Schweiß!

Die Nachfrage nach naturbasierten und aluminiumfreien Antitranspirantien und Deodorants wächst. Dr. Torsten Ertongur-Fauth erläutert neuartige Testsysteme für die Identifikation von Naturstoffen zur Reduzierung der Schweißbildung beim Menschen.

Zum Artikel
Backhaus A Moment 2015
© Jessica Backhaus

A Trilogy

Die Fotokünstlerin Jessica Backhaus vereint in ihrer jüngsten Serie Trilogy das Spiel mit Farben, Strukturen, Objekten und Oberflächen. Wir präsentieren einen Auszug aus der spannungsvollen wie umfassenden Sammlung.

Zum Artikel
Sombroek 1
© Markus Bassler

Gesund altern

Gesundes Altern ist angesichts des demografischen Wandels ein zunehmend wichtiges Thema für Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Es entstehen sowohl neue Notwendigkeiten für das Gesundheitssystem als auch Chancen für Innovationen in diesem breiten Themenfeld. Dr. Dirk Sombroek über die Innovationsallianz NatLifE 2020, die sich dieser Aufgabe widmet.

Zum Artikel
Riedel 1 Zeichenflaeche 1 Kopie 4

Auf den Geschmack kommen

Dr. Katja Riedel im Gespräch über die BRAIN-Forschung zur Wahrnehmung unterschiedlicher Geschmäcker für gesündere Lebensmittel.

Zum Artikel
3 Fragen Klumpp Boethe

3 Fragen an ...

... Research Technician Sabine Weber und den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter Dirk Ritzmann.

Zum Artikel

Blickwinkel Care Mai 2018

Blickwinkel Archiv

Nach oben