arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up cross download facebook link-external linkedin magazine mail search twitter xing

BLICKWINKEL

3 Fragen Klumpp Boethe

... research technician Sabine Weber and research associate Dirk Ritzmann.

BRAIN: What are you currently working on?

Sabine Weber: I am currently supporting an internal screening campaign. This involves searching for agonists or enhancers and antagonists for three different targets from the family of TRP ion channels for applications in foods and skin care products. Most of the resources are of natural origin. Altogether the tests comprise several thousands of different substances.

Dirk Ritzmann: We are currently discovering and developing antiperspirants, i.e. natural substances that reduce human sweat formation. One aim is to replace aluminium cloride that has been widely used to date. As well as screening such substances, my duties also include further developing our cell-based assay system.

BRAIN: What is so appealing for you working on this project?

Sabine Weber: Our current campaign is the first major screening project we are conducting on a new line that has been installed at BRAIN. The measuring equipment enables the simultaneous detection of 96 samples and the measurement of agonists or antagonists using the same protocol. It’s very exciting and interesting to make full use of these possibilities and to establish the protocols and the best and most efficient procedure.

Dirk Ritzmann: Sweat formation in the skin is a complex but interesting and important process in which various ion channels play a role. I have always been fascinated by the idea of making this process measurable. Apart from that, this project involves a variety of challenges and also provides plenty of scope for research into molecular biology as well as on cell cultures.

BRAIN: How did you end up working for this project?

Sabine Weber: I have been involved in cell biology screening campaigns for many years and have gained special experience with selected cell lines and ion channels that I can usefully contribute to this project.

Dirk Ritzmann: Following my training in the quality assurance of cosmetic products, I wanted to get to know further aspects of work as a biology lab technician. This field of activity involves a lot of cell culture studies, an area I already found extremely interesting during my training.

Sabine Weber

Sabine Weber trained as a chemical-technical assistant from 1992 to 1995 and gained additional qualifications as an environmental-technical assistant at Naturwissenschaftliches Technikum Landau. She began her career at PromoCell GmbH in Heidelberg. She has been working at BRAIN in the field of molecular and cell biology since 1998, with a focus on molecular biology activities to establish stable cell lines for screening processes, and for planning and conducting such screening.

Dirk Ritzmann

After obtaining his higher education entrance qualification, Dirk Ritzmann did a year of voluntary social service with Johanniter Unfall Hilfe e.V. He began training as a biology lab technician with a qualification from the German Chamber of Commerce and Industry in 2011, in a dual training arrangement between BASF SE and Win Cosmetic GmbH & Co. KG in Flörsheim-Dalsheim. Dirk Ritzmann has been working at BRAIN since 2015, and since 2016 has been following a distance learning course in molecular biology with Springer Verlag GmbH.

Scroll to top

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up cross download facebook link-external linkedin magazine mail search twitter xing

BLICKWINKEL

3 Fragen Klumpp Boethe

... Research Technician Sabine Weber und den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter Dirk Ritzmann.

BRAIN: Woran arbeiten Sie gerade?

Sabine Weber: Ich unterstütze zurzeit eine interne Screeningkampagne, bei der wir nach Agonisten bzw. Enhancern sowie Antagonisten für drei verschiedene Targets aus der Familie der TRP-Ionenkanäle suchen, die ihre Anwendung im Bereich Nahrungsmittel- und Kosmetikindustrie finden. Die Ressourcen sind natürlichen Ursprungs sowie (semi)synthetisch. Insgesamt umfassen die Testungen ca. 15 000 Substanzen.

Dirk Ritzmann: Wir arbeiten gerade an der Entdeckung und Weiterentwicklung von Antiperspirantien, also natürlichen Substanzen, die die Schweißbildung beim Menschen reduzieren. Ein Ziel dabei ist, das bisher häufig verwendete Aluminiumchlorid ersetzen zu können. Neben dem Screening nach solchen Substanzen zählt auch die Weiterentwicklung unseres Zellmodellsystems zu meinen Aufgabengebieten.

BRAIN: Worin liegt der besondere Reiz dieses Projekts?

Sabine Weber: Die Kampagne stellt das erste große Screeningprojekt dar, das an einem neuen Gerät durchgeführt wird. Die Möglichkeiten dieses Messgeräts lassen – aufgrund zeitgleicher Detektionen im 96er Maßstab – eine deutliche Effizienzsteigerung zu sowie Testungen von Ago- bzw. Antagonisten innerhalb eines Messprotokolls. Diese Möglichkeiten nutzen und ausschöpfen zu können sowie die Protokolle und die optimale, effizienteste Vorgehensweise zu etablieren, ist sehr reizvoll und spannend.

Dirk Ritzmann: Die Schweißbildung in der Haut ist ein komplexer, aber umso interessanterer und wichtiger Prozess, bei dem viele Ionenkanäle eine Rolle spielen. Diesen Prozess messbar machen zu können hat mich schon immer fasziniert. Darüber hinaus ist das Projekt in seinen Anforderungen sehr abwechslungsreich und bietet neben Zellkulturarbeiten auch viel Auseinandersetzung mit dem Bereich Molekularbiologie.

BRAIN: Wie sind Sie zu diesem Projekt gekommen?

Sabine Weber: Ich bin seit vielen Jahren im Bereich der Zellbiologie in Screeningkampagnen involviert und habe speziell mit den ausgewählten Zellinien und Ionenkanälen Erfahrungen gesammelt, die ich zielunterstützend in dieses Projekt einbringen kann.

Dirk Ritzmann: Nach meiner Ausbildung in der Qualitätssicherung von Kosmetikprodukten wollte ich noch mehr Facetten des Ausbildungsberufs Biologielaborant kennenlernen. Das aktuelle Projekt beinhaltet sehr viel Zellkulturarbeiten – ein Bereich, der mir in der Ausbildung bereits sehr reizvoll erschien.

Sabine Weber

Sabine Weber absolvierte von 1992 bis 1995 ihre Ausbildung zur Chemisch-technischen Assistentin mit Zusatzqualifikation zur Umwelt-technischen Assistentin am Naturwissenschaftlichen Technikum Landau. Ihr Berufseinstieg fand bei der PromoCell GmbH in Heidelberg statt. Seit 1998 ist sie bei BRAIN im Bereich Molekulare Zellbiologie tätig, mit Schwerpunkten auf molekularbiologischen Arbeiten zur Etablierung stabiler Zelllinien für Screenings und deren anschließender Planung und Durchführung.

Dirk Ritzmann

Nach seinem Abitur absolvierte Dirk Ritzmann ein Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr bei der Johanniter Unfall-Hilfe e. V. Der Einstieg in die Berufsausbildung zum IHK-geprüften Biologielaboranten erfolgte 2011 im Ausbildungsverbund der BASF SE mit dem Kooperationspartner Win Cosmetic GmbH & Co. KG in Flörsheim-Dalsheim. Seit 2015 arbeitet Dirk Ritzmann bei BRAIN und widmet sich seit 2016 zusätzlich dem Fernstudiengang Molekularbiologie der Springer Verlag GmbH.

Nach oben