BRAIN
PerillicActive

Natural freshness based on
fermented orange oil

BRAIN
PerillicActive

BRAIN PerillicActive

Natural freshness based on
fermented orange oil

Quality standards to be met by consumer products are becoming ever more stringent. Consumers and political initiatives focus, e.g., on environmental and health protection, product safety, and sustainable production processes. There is also an urgent need to reduce product waste. According to estimates, one third of the food produced worldwide is thrown away.

BRAIN is playing its part in finding solutions to these challenges by developing bio­active natural substances with antimicrobial properties for industrial use. These efforts are based on BRAIN’s BioArchive which includes extensive libraries of natural compounds, courtesy of AnalytiCon Discovery.

BRAIN’s PerillicActive development programme centers around the anti-microbial constituents of the edible plant Perilla frutescens. BRAIN has harnessed the properties of the perilla plant constituents by using biotechnological processes. The starting material is an oil gained from orange peel, a natural raw material to be found in the waste stream of fruit juice production. A soil microorganism converts the orange oil into bioactive ingredients that can be processed for a variety of applications.

PerillicActive properties offer benefits in many market segments. They protect products against microbial decay and infestation, keep them fresh and in line with standards of hygiene so they can be stored and enjoyed longer. In personal care products PerillicActive ingredients support and harmonize dermal microflora.

BRAIN PerillicActive…

  • is a BRAIN programme designed to develop natural freshness and product stability based on fermented oil from orange peel or other citrus fruits.

  • can satisfy the growing demand for natural and sustainably produced bioactives.

  • solutions may be used in a whole range of market segments such as food and animal feed, medical products, paints and varnishes, freshness retainers, cleaning agents, toiletries and further household products.

  • helps to support and harmonise the skin’s microflora in personal care and cosmetics products.

  • is based on the anti-microbial properties of ingredients from the edible perilla plant, which has been used in food preparation for many generations, particularly in Asia.

  • is a product portfolio containing virtually 100 % pure ingredients as well as microbially fermented extracts with an active ingredient concentration of around 90 %, depending on the requirements of the respective application segment.

  • preceded the FRESCO development programme, in which BRAIN has now identified several hundreds of additional candidates, whose antimicrobial effects have already been pre-characterized, and are available for further develop­ment in a variety of industrial applications.

The aim is to develop the right formulations and market the antimicrobial ingredients portfolio together with industrial partners.

If you would like to

  • talk about possible business opportunities
  • or find out more about our development programme

please send an Email to: bioActives@brain-biotech.de

Follow us on Twitter (@BRAINbiotech,).

Information

BRAIN PerillicActive Flyer

Quarterly Magazine #1 2017/18 BLICKWINKEL naturals

BRAIN
PerillicActive

Naturbasierte Frische aus
fermentiertem Orangenöl

BRAIN
PerillicActive

BRAIN PerillicActive

Naturbasierte Frische aus fermentiertem Orangenöl

Die Qualitätsanforderungen an Konsumgüterprodukte wachsen beständig. Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschutz, Produktsicherheit und nachhaltige Fertigungsverfahren stehen im Zentrum von Verbraucherinteressen und politischen Initiativen. Auch das Eindämmen von Produktverlusten ist geboten. Schätzungen zufolge landet derzeit allein ein Drittel aller weltweit hergestellten Lebensmittel im Abfall.

BRAIN leistet einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen durch die Entwicklung industriell nutzbarer bioaktiver Naturstoffe mit antimikrobiellen Eigenschaften. Grundlage hierfür ist das BioArchiv der BRAIN-Gruppe, zu dem auch die Naturstoff-Bibliotheken der AnalytiCon Discovery zählen.

BRAIN PerillicActive fokussiert auf die essbare Pflanze Perilla frutescens. Ihre Inhaltsstoffe bieten Vorteile für viele Marktsegmente. Sie schützen Produkte vor mikrobiellem Verderb und Befall, erhalten ihre Frische und Hygiene­standards und machen sie somit haltbarer und länger konsumierbar. In Pflegeprodukten unterstützen und harmo­nisieren Perillawirkstoffe zudem die Mikroflora der Haut.

BRAIN hat die Eigenschaften der Perillawirkstoffe biotechnologisch erschlossen. Als Ausgangsstoff dient mit dem Öl aus Orangenschalen ein natürlicher Rohstoff, der bei der Herstellung von Fruchtsäften als Abfallstrom anfällt. Ein im Erdboden vorkommender Mikroorganismus wandelt das Orangenöl in bioaktive Wirkstoffe um, die für unterschied­liche Anwendungen weiterverarbeitet werden können.

BRAIN PerillicActive…

  • beschreibt ein BRAIN-Programm für naturbasierte Frische und Produktstabilität auf Grundlage fermentierten Öls aus Orangenschalen oder anderen Zitrusfrüchten.

  • bietet Antworten für die wachsende Nachfrage nach natürlichen und nachhaltig hergestellten bioaktiven Inhaltsstoffen.

  • bietet Einsatzmöglichkeiten für vielfältige Marktsegmente von Lebens- und Futtermitteln über Medizinprodukte, Farben und Lacke bis hin zu Frischhalte-, Reinigungs-, Hygiene- und anderen Haushaltsmitteln.

  • trägt bei Pflege- und Kosmetikprodukten zudem zur Unterstützung und Harmonisierung der Mikroflora der Haut bei.

  • beruht auf den Eigenschaften von Wirkstoffen der ess­baren Perillapflanze, die in Teilen Asiens seit vielen Generationen bei der Lebensmittelzubereitung genutzt wird.

  • umfasst ein Produktportfolio von annährend 100%iger Wirkstoffreinheit bis hin zu mikrobiell fermentierten Extrakten mit rund 90%iger Wirkstoffkonzentration – je nach Anforderung des Anwendungsgebiets.

  • ist Vorreiter des nachfolgenden Entwicklungsprogramms FRESCO, für das BRAIN bereits mehrere Hundert weitere Startkandidaten identifiziert und deren antimikrobielle Wirkungen für verschiedenste industrielle Anwendungen vorcharakterisiert hat.

Zielsetzung ist es, das Portfolio für anti-mikrobielle Wirkstoffe gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern in die passenden Formulierungen und anschließend auf den Markt zu bringen.

Wenn Sie

  • mit uns über Geschäftsmöglichkeiten sprechen
  • oder mehr über das Technologieprogramm erfahren möchten,

schreiben Sie uns eine eMail an bioActives@brain-biotech.de

Folgen Sie uns auch auf Twitter (@BRAINbiotech).

Informationen

BRAIN PerillicActive Info-Flyer

Quartalsmagazin #1 2017/18 BLICKWINKEL Naturals